Selflessness

I have not posted in a while with Christmas preparations and spending time with family, I put the virtual world on hold for a little bit but now I am back.

So as you may know I have been seeking God for myself to learn how to be a woman after his own heart. A word that I have encountered time and time again has been selflessness…..selflessness. I, like most people, am a very selfish person inundated with the images of selfishness as a way of life. To live for myself, to work to get what I want, to claw my way to the top no matter who I have to scratch to get there, have fun at the expense of others. Selfishness is the natural way of life. Shouldn’t that be a clue that I should not be living that way? As a Christian, my life is contra-cultural, peculiar, or at least it is supposed to be. I am supposed to give of myself without regret or regard for what I may feel might be more important to me. If someone else has a need that I can meet even if it means coming out of my comfort zone, I should try and meet it.

Philippians 2:14 Do all things without murmurings and disputing

Another thing I have found about selflessness is how it effects my treatment of God. One example given in The Lost Art of True Beauty was waking up in order to pray. It is a selfish desire to stay up late aimlessly and wake up late the next morning. When I do that, it is likely that I will not spend time with God because I will have to jump up and go about my business. I know that is something that I have to work on. Sleeping. It’s funny how we love sleep so much but when it comes time to rest, it seems like there are so many other fun things to do.

I guess I’ll consider this a challenge to myself. To sleep and wake up on time in order to spend good quality time with God.

A lady knows with whom her allegiance lies – with Christ.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. heather joy
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 19:41:48

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I appreciate your sweet comment. 🙂

    I bought “The Lost Art of True Beauty” months ago, but have been so busy reading other books since then that I haven’t had a chance to pick it up and start reading it yet. I’m looking forward to it though! 🙂

    May God continue to richly bless you as you endeaver to become more like Him.
    ~ Heather Joy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

