The Meek and Quiet Spirit for the Obnoxiously Loud

The idea or practice of femininity has eluded me for years. it is not that I have never had the desire to pursue Biblical womanhood or be a lady but I just cimply could not grasp what it really meant to be a lady. Over and over I have heard those words uttered to me, “Be a lady,” but that is a hard task to accomplish when you do not know what the end result looks like.

Enter Proverbs 31 woman.

Many times, I have been told that she is the ideal, she is the woman that we should all strive to be. To be honest, she seems pretty unattainable by the means that everyone pushes her with. (People make it seem like getting to the end result of being her simply takes….well, being her. There is no practice involved…one day you wake up as HER….no such luck)

Now, there is the Titus 2 woman

This lady is a teacher, not a learner. In order to teach a subject, you need to have a firm grasp on the material and that I do not have and I can imagine most young women my age do not either. This is another one that seems out of reach.

Well, how about 1 Peter 3:3-4 woman

Meek and quiet huh??? That is totally another end without means…enough said.

Anywaiz, my current endeavor is to find out what it means to be a lady and apply that to my life letting it become who I am and not just a facade that I put on. Why you ask? I really want to be a woman after God’s heart and I feel like that involves finding out what I, being a lady, need to look and act like. I need practical knowledge though, a way to become what He wants me to be. Secondly, my son needs to know what a lady looks like so that when he is ready to pursue a relationship, he will not be walking in blindly like most of us have. He will know what is  good what is bad…not saying that by the end of this I will be perfect but striving for perfection which should also be his wife’s way of life.

Today I sent out a mass text message to some friends asking what a lady looked like. Here’s what I got:

“A female who embraced the beauty and power of femininity and realizes that class and sophistcation go alongwith it. Also one who does not buse previously mentioned power.” – D’Ani

“I think I hold women to the same standard as men. To me it’s about integrity, discipline and caring for others. Holding ourselves to God’s standards with humility and to respect ourselves as well as others.” – Dom H

These are only two of those that I’d received, they’re still coming in.

I’m currently reading the book that is pictured about, The Lost Art or True Beauty by Leslie Ludy. So far it is practical and applicable and that is most certainly what I like.

Anywaiz, I’m gonna go to run errands and such but I feel that God is really going to use this time that I am spending to refine and change me into the woman He wants me to be which is absolutely my greatest desire.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heather joy
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:31:40

    May I encourage you to look into “Stepping Heavenward” by E. Prentiss if you have not already read it. Also, “Passion & Purity” by Elisabeth Elliot. Why P&P is about Elisabethe and Jim Elliot’s love story, it’s so SO much more than that. A girl will definitely learn things about becoming a godly lady from that book as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

