The Good Stuff: to buy or not to buy

I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!! Seriously, when I bought the Oyin Handmade sample pack, I could have lived without the other products that were there. Maybe I didn’t know how to use them right or something but they just were not for me. But THIS!!!! The Shine and Define serum, it is amazing! I used it for a braid out, it was perfectly defined and moisturized, I fell in love. I can imagine that is the point if the sample pack: to have you fall in love with at least one of the products so that you will come back for more. Ohhhhhh and I wanted more but I didn’t want a dinky little 2oz package. Oh no. Not the 4oz one. Nope. Just not enough.

I wanted the 8oz jar of it….do you know what that costs???? $18…..plus shipping. Really? I love Oyin and their funkiness. Seriously, not just the company but the people who own it. From what I’ve seen from their website, blog and YouTube channel, they are definitely some creative, eccentric, lovable people that I would LOVE TO SUPPORT. But do I really want to spend $18 on a product?

Really, my limit for any one product has be like $12 (that was when E’Tae’s Carmel Treatment came on the market and that stuff makes your hair SOOOOOOOFT!!!! Ummmmm, it’s now like $20 though so I’ve had to make my own when necessary).

The problem with this is that I have not had as good of a braid-out before or after the Shine and Define. *sigh*

What am I to do? Right now since all I have to worry about with the kinky-twists is cleanliness and moisture, I’m taking time to re-evaluate my inventory and see what I can do without and what I may or may not splurge on. There aren’t many products that I use. I mean, I wash, condition, deep condition, and style. For the most part I use Echo Styler gel or some kind of oil. Not much to that. Let’s list prices shall we?

Shampoo: Between $5-$8 (sulfate-freeeeeeeeeeeeeee)

Conditioner: Suave Almond and Shea Butter (OMG AMAZING!!!) $3 <– for the BIG bottle at Wal-Mart

Gel: Echo Style $4 (slick edges for puffs and buns)

Oil: EVOO $5-$8 or Wild Growth (hate the smell, love the oil) $8

All together I pay Between $17-$25 on Products that last pretty long actually. It takes me a while finish it all because I use everything pretty sparingly, save the conditioner…..can’t use too much conditioner!!!!

I really don’t spend too much on products so I guess one splurge would not hurt. In January when I take these twists out and enjoy a good deep conditioning session.

I guess my decision has been made huh?

OYIN HERE I COME….in January….maybe late December.

Don’t raise your prices guys đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

