Convenient killer

A lot of the food that we consume on a daily basis is that of unknown origin. Beyond knowing what number it it on the menu or the “trusted neighborhood restaurant” that we get it from, we do not know how it is REALLY being cooked, what additives are present and what the nutritional content is (if we don’t really know what it’s made of and how it is cooked than this is only logical). When I took the time to think about this, it really bothered me. Even down to the use of bottled water.

We take this convenience thing to be such a priority that we do not slow down and consider the consequences. Personally, I will go out to class, buy a burger and fries $6.25 and then indulged. Doing this (or some variation of this) over the last 2 years has made me gain weight in leaps and bounds all for the sake of convenience. Am I not a woman? Shouldn’t I know how to take care of myself beyond handing someone money to make my food? Come on!!!!

Not only does this kill us as people but it also destroys the money we have. Why am I spending so much on one meal when I can buy a pack of chicken breast for a little more money and feed my entire family of 6? Yikes! What a thought. Oh and bottled water. Why am I spending money for water? Since the beginning of the semester, I’ve been boiling and bottling my water and it tastes really good. Sometimes unfortunately, I run out and have to boil more, let it cool and then drink it but it’s all about patience.

God made us to exercise patience and that is not what our society teaches us. We are supposed to have everything in a blink so that we can get up and go do the “important” things. But while we are running to do these things that we cannot wait for, we are slowly killing and incapacitating ourselves. We do not have basic survival skills. WHY CAN’T PEOPLE BOIL WATER AND WHY ARE SOME PROUD OF THAT FACT???? That’s just crazy.

I’ve said it over and over but I really just feel that this is the right way to go. Utilize the skills that we have and those that we can learn. God gave us a mind to work things out, I’m going to and I’m going to enjoy every moment of it.

This will certainly be a test of patience.

Leave a Reply

