The trouble of time…

Here’s a wonderful issue to address, one that we all have trouble with…well, for the most part: TIME MANAGEMENT.

Ever thought that the way that you spend your time can either glorify or….(what’s the opposite of glorify?) uhhhh not glorify God? I have a huge problem with time for a couple of reasons. First, I’m just really bad with it. I’m a bit of a waster. I mean, I like to do stuff that does not necessarily utilize my time wisely. I’m a little imprudent at times, what can I say? Can’t be but honest when I am trying to improve right? Secondly, my schedule, especially right now, is really weird. For instance Classes are on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 10:40am and 6:00pm. That gap in the middle seems like a great time to get stuff done right? To be honest not really, all of that time is a little distracting because it seems to present this window of opportunity that really does not exist. As you live within these 4 hours and 5o minutes (the time between the end of my first class, 1:10pm to the beginning of the next), you realize that this is just not that much time. Along with these three days a week encumbered with academia, I have to work. I’ve been trying to get hours for Monday, Friday and Saturday, which is what I have this week thank God, and that takes up another large chunk of my week. Ok here’s a BIG time waster: YOUTUBE!!!! I LoVe YOUTUBE!!! Hair videos, music, so much information that I do not have to read! Just press play. That is such a sad statement for an English Journalism major. My future livelihood is dependent on people reading! How am I supposed to expect others to do it when I won’t? (disclaimer: I love to read!!! I work at a book store, books are a passion but YouTube happened when I went natural. Easy hair info and no real research beyond who’s channel has the best info. Also I do not think I will really do journalism. It’s is more a means to an end but I do like it :-))

Let’s do some math here though. 24 hours a day times 7 days a week makes 168 hours a week. Mmmmk

Class is 15 Hours a week and work is roughly 15-28 hours a week that makes 30 to 43 hours of mandatory occupied time.

LEAVING 125-138 hours of FREE TIME!!!! Are you serious? That’s like a lot granted this does include the 56 hours of sleep I should be getting every week but sometimes that’s a sacrifice that has to be made…although, the Bible does talk about getting an adequate amount of sleep…..ok. I’ll factor that in another time.

So here’s the plan for this week of my 30 day expedition (by the way, this is a 30 day thing starting today), I need to work out a schedule and stick to it. Time with God (first thing in the morning), time with family, time for homework, time for friend’s if necessary (socializing is secondary…sorry). I’ll probably do that after work tonight, maybe during if I have any register time 🙂

Sooooooo here we go.

All to the glory of God, let’s prioritize.

Leave a Reply

