Whether it be eating or drinking…

…do it to the glory of God (roughly, 1 Corinthians 10:31). Ok, I get that, but what do I do? I mean, I really have not thought of myself as talented in any specific way really. I sing…but who doesn’t? I can write…but not well, well not in my opinion anyway. Really, other than those two, I do not feel that there is much to me. This isn’t like a low self-esteem rant because if one thing is true about me, it is that I do NOT have low self-esteem 🙂

I’m surrounded by these people, so beautiful and talented ministering to God and others so blatantly with what they do but what about me? What do I do? That’s a legitimate question. Where do I fall in this great cavern of Christians who love and serve the Lord. What is my mission….oh wait, let me clarify once again.

Not like a Purpose Driven Life sort of thing but more like because well, fear God and keep His commandments, the conclusion of the whole matter (Ecclesiastes 12:13) but like what do I do? What is my ministry? Does everyone know what theirs is while they are performing it? For instance, a mother is a minister to her child. That ministry is often taken for granted as is that of a father to his family. Still, ministries nonetheless?

Mundane? That is fine. I would not mind if that were my main ministry, being a mommy but I often wonder if there is more that I should be doing.

Life

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessiekaitlyn
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 03:13:16

    i think, and please note this is just my opinion, that if there was something God really wanted you to do, he would let it be known. just keep reading the Word, praying, and keep your eyes and ears open because sometimes God speaks to us in quiet and unexpected ways.

    Reply

    • deepbackground3130
      Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:18:51

      Thanks for the opinion and I completely agree. I know He will let me know since I am asking and would really like to know. But sometimes it’s just weird having all of these people around me doing these beautiful things while I feel a little dormant. But I respect God’s timing and know that he knows exactly what He is doing 🙂
      Thanks again

      Reply

  2. Andrew
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:12:56

    Is Dylan not a ministry (I know you know he is)? You’re working on a college degree. Is that not some sort of ministry to the LORD as you’re being educated? Do you not minister to Mom and Dad? You’re in no ways dormant. I don’t even have a blog ;-).
    I just feel like God’s time for us is NoW! His will for our lives is seemingly clear from scripture– Sanctification, conformity to His image, doing good stuff for people as if they were Him. We should be fulfulling that task every second. Don’t JUST work toward and be consumed with some ultimate goal (that God in His sovereignty already has mapped out). If you do you’ll just waste your NOW ministry.

    Well there’s my blog for the day.

    Reply

    • deepbackground3130
      Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:20:14

      LoL I figured about the dramatic voice thing. You are absolutely right. My life is a ministry. It’s funny because it is something that I always tell one specific friend and maybe I should have been listening to myself. Funny enough, this same friend basically told me today how she did view my life and a ministry to her. It was weird that I never really thought of it that way. It’s just living the best I can through God’s power to me….ya know. It’s always said that we are being watched constantly and while I knew it was a fact, I never took it to heart until she told me what she did. You are absolutely right…especially about my Dylan. He’s my first ministry.
      BTW sorry if the first part was incoherent……I do not know exactly what was going on. The words were clear in my hear but did not translate well to my fingers. Ya know
      🙂 Thankssssssss

      Reply

  3. Andrew
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:14:58

    By the way, a lot of that last post is to be read in a dramatic voice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

